If you want to delete or leave a group so that the members cannot interact with each other or in other words, remove it from its root, you need to be the admin of the group. We have covered that below. However, if you are a member concerning the group who only wants to delete it from their own phone, you can do that too by following the steps.
Step 1: Open the WhatsApp group that you want to delete. Tap the top bar that shows group info.
Step 2: On the next screen, scroll down and you will find the Exit group option. Tap on it. A pop up will appear asking you to confirm your decision. Tap on Exit.
Once you do that, you will see that the group is still visible on your device. It’s because the group hasn’t been actually deleted from your device, you are just not a member of the group anymore. Meaning when you exit the group, you can no longer participate in the group chats. In case you want to remove it from your phone, go to step 3.
Step 3: On the same screen, you will see that the Exit button is now replaced by the Delete group button. Tap on it to delete the group from your phone. A pop up will appear. Tap on Delete.
Deleting the group by pressing the Delete button will permanently delete it for you and also remove all the chat history of this group from your phone. However, the group or the group chat won’t be affected by other members. They can still chat. They will simply receive a notification in the group saying that you have left it.