How to Delete Whatsapp Sent Messages for everyone or for me

Whatsapp has grown into becoming one of the most used messaging services in the world. For almost a decade, Whatsapp has a direct approach when it comes to messaging – once you send them, there is no way you can recall or revoke the sent messages. Whatsapp’s latest version now allows users to delete newly sent messages.

Whether you pressed the wrong button by mistake or regretted what you just sent to your contact, knowing how to delete Whatsapp sent messages will help you retract what you just sent. This article will discuss how you can delete newly sent Whatsapp Messages

How to Delete Whatsapp Sent Messages for everyone or for me

You can delete sent messages on Whatsapp as long as the message is sent within the last 7 minutes. To delete sent messages, do these:

1. Open Whatsapp from your mobile app screen.

 

2. Once logged into Whatsapp, tap on the conversation where the message that you want to delete is available.

open whatsapp

3. Touch and hold on the message that you want to delete until a pop-up menu appears.

 

4. Tap on delete button from the pop-up menu to view more options.

 

8. Tap on Delete for Everyone if you want to delete the message on all the recipients’ devices. Tapping on Delete for Me will only delete the message on your device and retains it on the other contacts’ devices.

9.  You are done.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: I have successfully deleted my messages, but they still appear on my friend’s Whatsapp. Is this a bug or something?
A: For the feature to work, the sender and the receiver should update to the latest Whatsapp version. Older Whatsapp version users may still be able to read deleted messages.

Q: Are successfully deleted messages completely gone? How can I be sure that my recipients have not read my message?
A: A double blue tick mark on a message is an indicator that the message has been read by the recipient. Other than that, there is no way that you can verify if indeed the recipients have not read the message. There are many ways that recipients can see your deleted messages – first is if the notifications are enabled and have not been deleted by the user, and second is if one of the recipients someone took a screenshot and shared your message.

Q: Is this feature available to everyone?
A: The feature is slowly rolling out to most users. Whatsapp has not officially said a word if the feature is already available to all accounts. Users are advised to update to the latest version as the feature is only available to Whatsapp’s latest software version.

Q: I followed all the steps but I am stuck on step number 8. The option only shows the Delete for Me option. There is no Delete for Everyone. Am I missing something here?
A: Only messages sent within the 7 minutes can be deleted on your recipient’s phones. Older messages can’t be removed.